Tholthorpe - Today.
The village attracts visitors to it's picturesque Green & Duck Pond, particularly families to feed the ducks, and to annual events, such as the 10K road race, which is often the North Yorkshire Championship, the "Follies" pantomime, now entering its 4th decade, and the summer "Fun day" on the Green. Canadian veterans and their families are also often seen renewing their memories of wartime service here.
Accommodation is available at The New Inn, with its award winning Restaurant & the Holiday Cottage at Pond View Farm.
Regular services are held in the Methodist Chapel while a very active WI meets monthly, plus making excursions of interest. The Village Hall also hosts classes for "Bumps & Babes, Children's Dancing, Yoga, etc. Cubs & Beavers meet weekly in the Scout Hut.
The inhabitants are mainly commuters, with many professions represented. Tradesmen in the village include, Butcher, Joiner, Builders & of course, Farmers.
Industrial developments on the old airfield include, Coach Services, Garages & Repair Shops, Wrought Iron Blacksmith, Steel Stockholder, House Insulation, Fencing Supplies, Portable Building manufacture & hire, Commercial Vehicle Spray shop, Precision Engineer, Office Furniture manufacture, etc.
The village is served by Stephenson's No 29 bus service to Easingwold & York via surrounding villages.
A friendly village, much changed since the 1930's but retaining its original charm.
Google Map for Tholthorpe
Will require Adobe Reader to view
Tholthorpe, a farming village of Viking origin, recorded in the Domesday Book in 1086, as Turolfestorp and Turoluestorp, was part of the Soke of Helperby. Later known as Thoraldthorpe and Toltorp, it became a resting place for cattle being driven to York from the North.
"Ten Mile Hill", to the West of the village, the source of numerous human bones and Stone Age tools, is believed to have been the site of some sanguinary event, upon which, history is silent.
The common, on the edge of the Forest of Galtres, was enclosed in 1800, and by 1850, the population was 300, many living in old thatched houses. More than half of today's houses have been built within living memory, the majority of the remainder in the late 1700's and 1800's, and together they accommodate the population of over 250.
The School, now used as a Village Hall, was built in the mid 1830's and the Wesleyan Chapel in 1844. The Shop and Post Office closed in 1993, the Plough Inn, much earlier, leaving the New Inn still open today.
The Pond, situated in the Village Green with it's Weeping Willow and Cherry trees alongside the extended Village Hall, is home to many wild duck, making a picturesque centre to the community.
Tholthorpe Arfield and the Canadian Squadron
The grass Airfield was established in 1939 and used by the RAF, 77 Squadron's Whitely bombers. By 1943 it had been improved with concrete runways, hangars and infrastructure to accommodate over 1000 personnel to be manned by the Royal Canadian Air Force.
431 Iroquois Squadron arrived from Burn and 434 Bluenose Sqn was formed here, operating Halifax MkV aircraft. At the end of the year they both moved to Croft, to be replaced by 420 Snowy Owl Sqn and 425 Alouette Sqn on their return from North Africa, with their Halifax MkIII aircraft, until June 1945. A Memorial of Canadian granite, to all who served at Tholthorpe, was unveiled on the Green in 1986.
These very significant events in the village's history, together with the advent of the commuter, have changed an exclusively agricultural economy of centuries, into an agricultural, industrial and residential village of continuing charm.